Assignment 2: rework options

My Assignment 2 was on the subject of food poverty, more specifically its psychological effects. I used visual analogies of tunnel vision and hallucination to depict foodstuffs in odd places, with the intention of evoking the sense of intense focus on getting food and the inability to concentrate on anything else.

Original

Click first image for a slideshow.

Potential rework

One of the suggestions from my tutor was to try changing the background to black, to further enhance my stated intention of tunnel vision.

Click first image for a slideshow.

Next steps

I currently prefer the black background – more striking, especially printed large. But I’m not 100% sure. Half of the people I’ve currently showed it to still prefer the original.

Hmmm… I’ll come back to this.

EDIT

I’ve done print tests of two versions on black (with and without a thin top/bottom black border.

 

print-test

Currently preferring the one with top/bottom border. My rationale: for both the all-white one and the right-hand black one (where the image touches the top and bottom of the black blocks), the white feels like it is intruding on the image, when I want define the edges of the image as excluding the borders – I only want there to be a border for practical handling purposes (assessment good practice, I’ve been told by various sources).

The left-hand black one meets my criteria more; the white doesn’t intrude, and the black space + photo image is more self-contained.

Decision made:

print-test-crop

I’ve just checked and I’ve got three spare black ink cartridges :-)

8 thoughts on “Assignment 2: rework options

  1. nuala513668 11 January 2017 / 14:08

    I like the black but I think the powers that be like white!!!!

    Like

    • Rob Townsend 11 January 2017 / 14:21

      Ha, thanks! I’m working on the justification that it’s an assignment for the ‘Art’ section of the course and we’re supposed to push the boundaries ;-)

      Like

  2. Stephanie Dh. 11 January 2017 / 18:43

    I would say white background without hesitation, I think it emphasizes the quality of your work with colors.
    Plus the black really distracts me and compete with your images.

    Like

    • Rob Townsend 11 January 2017 / 19:45

      Interesting! Thanks very much. I started with white and tried black at tutor suggestion… hmmm…

      Like

  3. Amano 12 January 2017 / 23:25

    I find myself wondering why the food is placed where it is … framing with black or not immaterial … why not try newspaper text instead of black that makes some sort of comment on the piece?

    Like

    • Rob Townsend 13 January 2017 / 09:02

      Thanks. The placement of the food is covered in the statement of intent in the original assignment. As this is rework and the general concept went down well with the tutor, I’m not planning to go for a fundamentally different background concept. But the tutor did suggest trying a different background colour in rework, and I’m now happier with the black than the white.

      Like

  4. Anne Bryson 14 January 2017 / 22:27

    I like the black too Rob so glad you have gone with that. I also think the last image is really powerful. Good luck with this at assessement

    Like

Leave a Reply

